Other social dating services, such as and the Complete.me, match singles based on personal information shared on Facebook, so one person who loves the Black Eyed Peas and went to Harvard University could be matched with another who adores Lady Gaga and graduated from Yale.Yoke.me, which was created by two former Huffington Post employees, even invites friends to play matchmaker and set up singles they think would hit it off.According to analytics site App Data, two month-old the has 20,000 monthly active users and Yoke, which launched in March, has 7,000.and e Harmony boast 20 million and more than 33 million users, respectively.
seeks to emulate the experience of being set up by friends, but gives singles more control over the process: Rather than waiting for an acquaintance to make an introduction, users can actively search for potential love interests among their wider circle of friends.Cyber Int, a group focused on information security and cyber warfare, demonstrated how a hacker (or really anyone with time on their hands) could take advantage of this privacy issue to piece together a user's entire friends list.You are able to view the mutual friends of any two users on Facebook, so long as one of the two users shares his friends list publicly.Online dating services such as the and are looping singles' friends into the matchmaking process in an effort to connect people to each other's acquaintances and keep suitors from weaving the kind of elaborate fictions that characterize many profiles on traditional dating sites."Facebook has created a shift from online dating to social dating," said online dating expert Julie Spira.If people can see your friendship on another timeline, they'll be able to see it in news feed, search and other places on Facebook.They'll also be able to see mutual friends on your timeline.."I know a lot of people who, when they go on Facebook, look at it as a social network for friends.There are some things on Facebook you just can't hide — and it appears your list of friends is among them.The social network allows you to set the visibility of your friends list, so if you want to keep that list private, you can do so by setting the list visibility to "Only Me." The problem is that other users can still see some of your friends even if they can't access the full list, and while Facebook explains some of this on the privacy setting screen, the "Only Me" setting doesn't actually limit your friends list to For starters, you can see if you have mutual friends with another user even if that user's friends list is set to private.That means that you are able to see a sampling of that user's connections even if they've changed the privacy setting to "Only Me." Remember: Your friends control who can see their friendships on their own timelines.